Zilker Neighborhood Association
Austin, Texas 78704

City Government

This page gives basic information on the City Council, City Deparments, and City Boards and Commissions. You can watch City Council and Boards/Commissons meetings live and in archived videos at Austin ATXn Online. If you are looking for information on Code Complaints, click here.

City Council

City Departments

Please note that reorganization and personel turnover occurs often within the City Departments, and it is almost impossible to keep up with, so do not view the departments and personel listed below as absolute fact.

CITY MANAGER (Spencer Cronk)   webpage   email   orgchart-Jun 2021 (for a possibly newer org chart, see this page)

HEALTH & ENVIRONMENT / CULTURE & LIFELONG LEARNING (Christopher J. Shorter, Assistant City Manager)

SAFETY (Rey Arellano, Assistant City Manager)

  • Police (Brian Manley, Chief)   webpage
    • Region 4 Substation: 512-974-8100 - Webpage (the Zilker neighborhood is in Region 4)
    • David2 District Representative Officer Shawn Rougeou: 512-974-5490 - Email (the Zilker neighborhood is in District David2)
  • Fire (Joel Baker, Chief)   webpage   orgchart-2019-06-23
  • Emergency Medical Services (Ernesto Rodriguez, Chief)   webpage
  • Austin Code (Cora D. Wright, Director)   webpage   orgchart-2019-05-10
  • Watershed Protection (Jorge Morales, P.E., Director)   webpage   orgchart-2020
    • Field Operations (Jose Guerrero, P.E., Assistant Director)
    • Support Services (Sara B. Hartley, Assistant Director)
    • Environmental Policy & Planning (Chris Herrington, P.E., Environmental Officer)
    • Environmental Resource Management & Watershed Engineering (Mike Kelly, P.E., Assistant Director)

GOVERNMENT THAT WORKS FOR ALL (Elaine Hart, Deputy City Manager and Chief Financial Officer)

  • Management Services
  • Human Resources
  • Financial Services
  • Communications & Technology Management
  • Communications & Public Information
  • Building Services

ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY & AFFORDABILITY(Godney Gonzales, Assistant City Manager)

  • Economic Development   webpage
  • Development Services (Denise Lucas, Interim Director)   webpage   orgchart-Nov 2021
    • Consumer Services(Marie Sandoval, Manager)
    • Site & Subdivision Inspections (vacant, Division Manager)
    • Customer Experience Unit (Brydan McNeely, Manager)
    • Plan Review & Inspections (Beth Culver, Acting Assistant Director)
    • Land Use (Andrew Linseisen, Assistant Director)
    • Strategic Operations (Melissa Martinez, Assistant Director
  • Planning & Zoning (Greg Guernsey, Director)   webpage   orgchart-2019-05-01
  • Neighborhood Housing & Community Development   webpage
  • Small & Minority Business Resources   webpage
  • Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs   webpage
  • Real Estate Services   webpage
  • Austin Convention Center   webpage

MOBILITY (Gina Fiandaca, Assistant City Manager)

  • Public Works   webpage
  • Austin Transportation Department (Robert Spillar, Director)   webpage   orgchart-2018-03-15
    • Transportation Planning (Annick Beaudet, Assistant Director)
    • Parking and Mobility (Jason Jon Michael, Assistant Director)
    • Traffic Operations (Jim Dale, Assistant Director)
    • Administrative (Anthony Segura, Chief Administrative Officer)
    • Public Information and Legislative (Kara Taylor, Chief of Staff)
  • Aviation   webpage
  • Fleet

AUSTIN WATER (Greg Meszaros, Director)   webpage

AUSTIN ENERGY (Jackie Sargent, General Manager)   webpage

City Boards and Commissions


Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment consists of 14 members. It hears and decides requests for variances from the requirements of Chapter 25-2 (Zoning), appeals of an administrative action under Chapter 25-2 (Zoning), variances from the requirements of airport zoning regulations.

  • District 5 Appointee and Vice-Chair Melissa Hawthorne (Mar 01, 2019 to Feb 28, 2021)
  • Commission Chair Don Leighton-Burwell (Mar 01, 2019 to Feb 28, 2021)
  • Staff Liason Leane Heldenfels: 512-974-2202 Email
  • Board of Adjustment Information: Webpage
Environmental Commission

The Environmental Commission consists of 11 members. It reviews and analyzes the policies relating to the environmental quality of the City, acts in an advisory capacity on all projects and programs which affect the quality of life for the citizens of Austin, makes recommendations for standards, and recommends and initiates specific studies.

  • District 5 Appointee Audrey Barrett Bixler (Dec 10, 2020 to Feb 28, 2023): Email TBD
  • Commission Chair Linda Guerrero (Mar 07, 2019 to Feb 28, 2023): Email
  • Environmental Commission Information: Webpage
Historic Landmark Commission

The Historic Landmark Commission consists of 11 members. It prepares and periodically revises an inventory of the structures and areas that may be eligible for designation as historic landmarks. It prepare2, reviews and proposes amendments to the Historic Landmark Preservation Plan. It also reviews requests to establish or remove a historic designation and makes recommendations on the requests to the Land Use Commission, as determined in accordance with Section 25-1-46 (Land Use Commission).

  • District 5 Appointee Kelly K. Little (Mar 01, 2019 to Feb 28, 2023): Email
  • Commission Chair Terri L Myers (Jan 26, 2017 to Feb 28, 2021): Email
  • Historic Landmark Commission Information: Webpage
Parks and Recreation Board

The Parks and Recreation Board consists of 11 members. Acquisition, development, improvement, equipment, and maintenance of city parks and public playgrounds; future development of city parks, playgrounds, and recreational facilities, and purchase of additional land for those purposes; and improvements in the maintenance, operation, and general welfare of the city's parks, grounds, and recreational facilities and their use by the public. Shall outline a general plan of development for new parks and playgrounds, including landscaping, roads, trails, buildings, and equipment.

  • District 5 Appointee Sarah B. Faust (Jan 23, 2020 to Feb 28, 2023): Email
  • Commission Chair Dawn L. Lewis (May 18, 2017 to Feb 28, 2021): Email
  • Parks and Recreation Board Information: Webpage
Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of 15 members. It makes and amends a master plan, recommends approval or disapproval of proposed zoning changes and control land subdivision within neighborhood planning areas, and submits, annually, a list of recommended capital improvements.

  • District 5 Appointee Robert Schneider (Jul 01, 2019 to Jun 30, 2021): Email
  • Commission Chair Todd W. Shaw (Jul 01, 2019 to Jun 30, 2021): Email
  • Planning Commission Information: Webpage
Small Area Planning Joint Committee

The Small Area Planning Joint Committee consists of 7 members. It advises the council on issues surrounding planning and zoning in areas such as downtown, corridors and centers, neighborhoods, the waterfront, planned unit developments, and transit oriented developments.

  • District 5 Appointee David King (Aug 08, 2019 to Feb 28, 2023): Email
  • Commission Chair James Shieh (Aug 08, 2019 to Jun 30, 2021): Email
  • Small Area Planning Joint Committee Information: Webpage
Zoning and Platting Commission

The Planning Commission consists of 11 members. It performs duties relating to land use and development.

  • District 5 Appointee and Vice-Chair David King (Mar 01, 2019 to Feb 28, 2023): Email
  • Commission Chair Jolene Kiolbassa (Mar 07, 2019 to Feb 28, 2023): Email
  • Zoning and Platting Commission Information: Webpage

Other City Boards and Commissions